Your Event Title

HOPOS, the International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, is devoted to promoting scholarly research on the history of philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies. We aim to promote historical work in a variety of ways, but especially through encouraging exchange among scholars through meetings, publications, and electronic media.

HOPOS 2020 is open to scholarly work on the history of philosophy of science from any disciplinary perspective. To encourage scholarly exchange that speaks to the cultural and temporal reach of HOPOS, we especially encourage submissions that take up philosophical themes that cross different cultures and time periods.  

The conference language is English.

Keynote Speakers

Sean Hsiang-lin Lei
Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Christina Thomsen Thörnqvist
University of Gothenburg, Sweden

Kant and Before Program Subcommittee

Deborah Brown (Chair), University of Queensland
Ahmed Al-Wisha, Claremont Graduate University
Sylvia Berryman, University of British Columbia
Margaret Anne Cameron, University of Victoria
Milena Ivanova, Cambridge University
Jack Zupko, University of Alberta

After Kant Program Subcommittee

Karine Chemla (Chair), CNRS & Université Paris Diderot
Michael Beaney, King's College London
Hasok Chang, Cambridge University
Nadine de Courtenay, Université Paris Diderot
Teru Miyake, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


Local Organizing Committee*

Teru Miyake (Chair), Nanyang Technological University
Andres Luco, Nanyang Technological University
Emi Okayasu, Nanyang Technological University
Chris Suhler, Nanyang Technological University
Olav Vassend, Nanyang Technological University
Chin Chua Fei, National University of Singapore
Lee Wang Yen, National University of Singapore

Website Design & Oversight

Zvi Biener (Chair), University of Cincinnati
Marcus Adams, State University of New York – Albany


HOPOS Governance


Mary Domski, President, University of New Mexico
David Stump, Vice President, University of San Francisco
Helen Hattab, Past President, University of Houston
Marcus Adams, Executive Secretary, State University of New York – Albany
Matthew J. Brown, Treasurer, University of Texas - Dallas

Steering Committee

Delphine Bellis, Paul Valery University Montpellier
Francesca Biagioli, University of Vienna
Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
Katherine Dunlop, University of Texas - Austin
David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University
Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure – Paris


Support for HOPOS 2020 is provided by the Nanyang Technological University School of Humanities, and HOPOS, the International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science.

lignan logo

hopos logo final


General inquiries about HOPOS 2020 can be directed to the HOPOS Executive Secretary, Dr. Marcus Adams ( 
Inquiries about practical arrangements at NTU can be directed to



HOPOS 2020 was originally set to take place at Lingnan University in Hong Kong. Before the congress was relocated to Nanyang Technological University in September 2019, a tremendous amount of work and planning had been completed by the members of the Lingnan Local Organizing Committee.

Darrell Rowbottom (Chair), Lingnan University
Vinnie Cheung, Lingnan University
Jamin Asay, Hong Kong University
Dan Marshall, Lingnan University
Jiji Zhang, Lingnan University

The HOPOS Steering Committee is incredibly grateful for the time and energy they invested in the congress.