Our Mission

HOPOS, The International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, is devoted to promoting scholarly research on the history of the philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies. We aim to promote historical work in a variety of ways, but especially through encouraging exchange among scholars through meetings, publications, and electronic media.

Officers

President
David Stump, University of San Francisco
stumpd@usfca.edu

Vice-President
Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Past President
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico
mdomski@unm.edu

Executive Secretary
Marcus Adams, State University of New York at Albany
madams2@albany.edu

Treasurer
Matthew J. Brown, University of Texas at Dallas
mattbrown@utdallas.edu

Steering Committee

Delphine Bellis, Paul Valery University Montpellier
delphine.bellis@univ-montp3.fr

Francesca Biagioli, University of Vienna
francesca.biagioli@univie.ac.at

Katherine Dunlop, University of Texas at Austin
kdunlop@utexas.edu

Alison Peterman, University of Rochester
alison.peterman@rochester.edu

Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure – Paris
sophie.roux@ens.fr

Maarten Van Dyck, Ghent University
maarten.vandyck@ugent.be

Finance

Delphine Bellis, Paul Valery University Montpelier
delphine.bellis@univ-montp3.fr

Alison Peterman, University of Rochester
alison.peterman@rochester.edu

David Stump, University of San Francisco [chair] [chair]stumpd@usfca.edu

Nominations & Elections

Laura Georgescu, University of Groningen
l.georgescu@rug.nl

Catherine Herfeld, University of Zurich [chair]
catherine.herfeld@uzh.ch

Charles Pence, Catholic University of Louvain
charles@charlespence.net

Governance

Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Mary Domski, University of New Mexico [chair]
mdomski@unm.edu

Maarten Van Dyck, Ghent University
maarten.vandyck@ugent.be

 

 

External Relations

Marcus Adams [ex officioExec Sec’y]State University of New York at Albany
madams2@albany.edu

Zvi Biener,  University of Cincinnati [chair]
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Matt Brown [ex officioTreasurer], University of Texas at Dallas
mattbrown@utdallas.edu

Katherine Dunlop, University of Texas at Austin
kdunlop@utexas.edu

Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure – Paris
sophie.roux@ens.fr

Publications

Francesca Biagioli, University of Vienna
francesca.biagioli@univie.ac.at

Matt Brown [ex officioTreasurer], University of Texas at Dallas 
mattbrown@utdallas.edu

Lydia Patton [ex officio, Editor], Virginia Tech 
critique@vt.edu

David Stump, University of San Francisco [chair]
stumpd@usfca.edu