Our Mission

HOPOS, The International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, is devoted to promoting serious, scholarly research on the history of the philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies. We aim to promote historical work in a variety of ways, but especially through encouraging exchange among scholars through meetings, publications, and electronic media.

Officers

President
Helen Hattab, University of Houston
hhattab@Central.uh.edu

Vice-President
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico
mdomski@unm.edu

Past President
Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia
alan.richardson@ubc.ca

Executive Secretary
Marcus Adams, SUNY – Albany
madams2@albany.edu

Treasurer Matthew J. Brown, University of Texas – Dallas
mattbrown@utdallas.edu

Steering Committee

Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Katherine Brading, University of Notre Dame
kbrading@nd.edu

Justin E.H. Smith, Université Paris 7 – Denis Diderot
jehsmith@gmail.com

Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure – Paris
sophie.roux@ens.fr

Cristina Chimisso, The Open University
cristina.chimisso@open.ac.uk

David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University
dmm1@iastate.edu

Finance

Katherine Brading, Duke University 
katherine.brading@duke.edu

Helen Hattab, University of Houston 
hhattab@central.uh.edu

David Marshall MillerIowa State University 
dmm1@iastate.edu

Nominations & Elections

Delphine Bellis; Université Paul Valéry, Montpellier
delphine.bellis@gmail.com

Francesca Biagioli [Chair], University of Konstanz 
bisogni.biagioli@virgilio.it

Phillipe Hunemann, CNRS & Université de Paris 1 Sorbonne 
philippe.huneman@gmail.com

Governance

Alan Richardson, University of British Columbia
alan.richardson@ubc.ca

Katherine Brading, Duke University
katherine.brading@duke.edu

Helen Hattab, University of Houston
hhattab@central.uh.edu

Sophie Roux, Ecole Normale Superieure
sophie.roux@ens.fr

External Relations

Marcus Adams [ex officioExec Sec’y]SUNY Albany
madams2@albany.edu

Matt Brown [ex officioTreasurer], University of Texas – Dallas
mattsmith@utdallas.edu

Cristina Chimisso, The Open University
cristina.chimisso@open.ac.uk

Mary Domski [Chair], University of New Mexico
mdomski@unm.edu

David Marshall MillerIowa State University
dmm1@iastate.edu

Publications

Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati 
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Matt Brown [ex officioTreasurer], University of Texas – Dallas 
mattsmith@utdallas.edu

Cristina Chimisso, The Open University  
cristina.chimisso@open.ac.uk

Helen Hattab, University of Houston 
hhattab@central.uh.edu

Lydia Patton [ex officio, Editor], Virginia Tech 
critique@vt.edu

Sophie Roux, Ecole Normale Superieure 
sophie.roux@ens.fr