Our Mission

HOPOS, The International Society for the History of Philosophy of Science, is devoted to promoting serious, scholarly research on the history of the philosophy of science. We construe this subject broadly, to include topics in the history of related disciplines and in all historical periods, studied through diverse methodologies. We aim to promote historical work in a variety of ways, but especially through encouraging exchange among scholars through meetings, publications, and electronic media.

Officers

President
Mary Domski, University of New Mexico
mdomski@unm.edu

Vice-President
David Stump, University of San Francisco
stumpd@usfca.edu

Past President
Helen Hattab, University of Houston
hhattab@Central.uh.edu

Executive Secretary
Marcus Adams, SUNY – Albany
madams2@albany.edu

Treasurer Matthew J. Brown, UT – Dallas
mattbrown@utdallas.edu

Steering Committee

Delphine Bellis, Paul Valery University Montpellier
delphine.bellis@univ-montp3.fr

Francesca Biagioli, University of Vienna
francesca.biagioli@univie.ac.at

Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
zvi.biener@uc.edu

David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University
dmm1@iastate.edu

Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure – Paris
sophie.roux@ens.fr

Justin E.H. Smith, Université Paris 7 – Denis Diderot
jehsmith@gmail.com

Finance

Delphine Bellis, Paul Valery University Montpelier
delphine.bellis@univ-montp3.fr

Helen Hattab, University of Houston [chair]
hhattab@central.uh.edu

David StumpUniversity of San Francisco
stumpd@usfca.edu

Nominations & Elections

Milena Ivanova; Cambridge University
mail@milenaivanova.co.uk

Anne-Lise Rey, Université de Lille
anne-lise.reyuniv-lillefr

Doina-Cristina Rusu [Chair], University of Groningen
d.rusu@rug.nl

Governance

Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Mary Domski, University of New Mexico
mdomski@unm.edu

David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University [chair]
dmm1@iastate.edu

External Relations

Marcus Adams [ex officioExec Sec’y]SUNY – Albany
madams2@albany.edu

Matt Brown [ex officioTreasurer], UT – Dallas
mattsmith@utdallas.edu

Sophie Roux, École Normale Supérieure – Paris
sophie.roux@ens.fr

Justin E.H. Smith, Université Paris 7 – Denis Diderot
jehsmith@gmail.com

David StumpUniversity of San Francisco [chair]
stumpd@usfca.edu

Publications

Francesca Biagioli, University of Vienna
francesca.biagioli@univie.ac.at

Zvi Biener, University of Cincinnati
zvi.biener@uc.edu

Matt Brown [ex officioTreasurer], University of Texas – Dallas 
mattsmith@utdallas.edu

Mary Domski, University of New Mexico [chair]
mdomski@unm.edu

Lydia Patton [ex officio, Editor], Virginia Tech 
critique@vt.edu

David Marshall Miller, Iowa State University 
dmm1@iastate.edu